info@developcroydon.com
020 8726 7968

Heritage

Croydon has a rich heritage – here is a snapshot of some of the key moments in the town’s history
 
1086 It was recorded as having a church, a mill and 365 inhabitants in the Domesday Book
1276 Archbishop Robert Kilwardby acquired a charter where Surrey Street Market still operates today
1596 The Whitgift Almshouses, which still stand next to the Whitgift Shopping Centre, was built by Archbishop of Canterbury John Whitgift, providing education and care for the elderly.
1803 The horse-drawn Surrey Iron Railway from Croydon to Wandsworth opened, becoming the world’s first public railway
1807 The first of six archbishops lived at Addington Palace, where they were based until it was sold in 1898
1809 The 9.5-mile Croydon Canal opened. Although it is long gone, South Norwood Lake is the former reservoir for the canal.
1849 Croydon became one of the first towns in the country to develop a public health infrastructure featuring a reservoir, water supply network and sewers
1851 Building began on the Surrey Street Pumping Station, in Exchange Square, which Guildhouse Rosepride are planning to bring back to life
1867 A great fire destroyed the parish church, now Croydon Minster, which was redesigned by Sir George Gilbert Scott and opened in 1870
1920 Croydon airport opened. It was the main airport for London before World War II and remains a landmark of historical significance today
1956 The Croydon Corporation Act was passed, leading to the building of new offices and road schemes throughout the 1950s and 1960s
1962 Fairfield Halls was opened
1970 The 50p building, now known as No.1 Croydon, was completed
1990 Crystal Palace FC reached the FA Cup final for the first time
2000 Croydon Tramlink, the only tram network in the capital, began operating
2004 Centrale shopping centre opened
2013 Westfield and Hammerson announced a £1.5billion plan to redevelop the 1960s Whitgift Shopping Centre